So easy, even I can make it

My path toward motherhood goes straight through the kitchen. In our past life, the fiance and I ate out every chance we got, only cooking by necessity or when the mood struck us.

But now, as I am becoming more conscious of the food that I put into my body (and therefore baby’s body) I realize how important home-cooked meals are. I used to hate cooking; now, however, I can’t wait to cook for my family.

Between my mom’s recipes and those found in cook books, I have been compiling my favorites and practicing making them. Periodically, when really excited about my creations, I will share them here.

The first recipe is for my absolute favorite food in the world (though not exactly the healthiest): Fettuccine Alfredo.

What you’ll need:

½ cup butter
8 oz cream cheese
1 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
Mozzarella
Fresh garlic
Mushrooms
Chicken breast
Pepper, to taste
Pasta

What you’ll do:

  1. Cut chicken breasts into strips or chunks. Cook together with mushrooms in a skillet.
  2. In a saucepan, melt butter. Add cream cheese; combine thoroughly.
  3. Add heavy cream, Parmesan cheese, garlic, and pepper. Mix well.
  4. Add a handful of mozzarella cheese; mix well. Add more, to taste.
  5. Let stand to thicken. Pour over cooked pasta and chicken.

And that’s it! I ate this for about five straight meals. It’s so good, and so easy even I can handle it!

I usually make this healthier by pairing it with a hearty side salad or adding broccoli or peas. And in my pre-pregnancy days, an awesome white wine quenched my post-Alfredo thirst.

Photo credit: lauraezolnoski.com
(In the future I will take my own photos of my masterpieces.)

Comments
7 Responses to “So easy, even I can make it”
  1. Theta Mom says:

    That looks so good AND easy to make!!! And welcome to TMC!

  2. Jenn says:

    Looks yummy! The PW uses a lot of butter and creams… the “good stuff”! =)
    thanks for the visit today.. .good luck with my giveaway!

    • Erin says:

      Yes, I’ve got to start trying her recipes. Yum! And I’m actually making shrimp alfredo tonight…I have been looking forward to it all week!

  3. Ooh! That looks so yummy. I’m going to have to give that a try. Thanks for stopping by my place. I posted a recipe for garlic grilled cheese sandwiches this afternoon. Come by (again lol) and check it out. Have a great day!

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

    • Erin says:

      That sounds yummy as well! I made the alfredo again today, this time substituting shrimp for the chicken, and adding broccoli. It was amazing, ifidosaysomyself.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Seared Food Blog, Erin McGillivray. Erin McGillivray said: My Fettuccine Alfredo recipe… yum! http://wp.me/pSpgb-1B […]



Leave a Reply

    • 3,340 mamas since April 10, 2010
