From fashionista to frugalista: How I’m clothing myself during pregnancy

Today, it happened. I swore to the deep depths of my soul that it wouldn’t. That I wouldn’t sink to that level. But I did. It happened before my very eyes.

I bought clothes from…WAL-MART.

I don’t even know who I am anymore. First, I am cooking extravegent home-cooked meals. And now I am walking into Wal-Mart without feeling dirty.

You see, I’m a Target girl, through and through. Did you know that Wal-Mart is not allowed within Minneapolis city limits? Target OWNS that city. Fun fact.

Anyway, aside from my [now-former] disdained stance on Wal-Mart, I also kind of don’t love maternity clothes. They are normally frumpy, unflattering, and definitely not stylish. So I refuse to waste my money on it. Instead, I am hell-bent on finding normal people clothes with a little bit of room to forgive my ever-growing waistline. Motherhood may not be a fashion show, but I’m not about to give up my style, either.

Which brings me to my next point. Not only did I buy clothing, to wear on my very own body, at WAL-MART, but I bought MILEY CYRUS clothing. Now, to be fair, it’s joint venture between Billy Ray’s pride and joy and Max Azria (who happens to be one of my favorite designers). But still. Wal-Mart. Miley frickin’ Cyrus. Who am I?

And just so you don’t judge ;), see for yourself how adorable these clothes are:

Miley Cyrus & Max Azria - 3/4-Sleeve Bomber Jacket

Miley Cyrus & Max Azria - Animal Racerback Tank. Also seen in my featured photograph. Special.

Additionally, I purchased a pair of very comfy cropped leggings, also from Hannah Montana. But, alas, I cannot find them online.

The best part about all of my purchases? They were only $6 each!

Wal-Mart, maybe you aren’t so bad after all. Miley–well, the jury’s still out on her.

Photo credit:

Comments
16 Responses to “From fashionista to frugalista: How I’m clothing myself during pregnancy”
  1. nifstevens says:

    Wal Mart has a lot of great little finds for women for almost nothing. Target still rules though!

    • Erin says:

      I just couldn’t believe how much more fashionable things were at Wal-Mart! It’s been a while since I’ve really, I mean really, shopped there. Pleasant surprise, though! The racer-back top is super soft, too…bonus.

  2. Tear our the tags and pretend that you never saw them!! (And maybe don’t listen to “Party in the USA” while you’re wearing one of them). Both are really cute and such a steal at 6 bucks! Good shopping!

    • Erin says:

      The funny thing is, since they were such good deals, I’m not even ashamed! I even find myself bragging about this in real life. Crazy! But, I will not be listening to “Party in the USA” anytime soon 😉

  3. Maureen says:

    LOL brilliant post! Love it! I too was a Target girl until I did found some cute stuffs at Wal-mart. 😀

    Stopping by from SITS

  4. Kerrie G. says:

    I really like that tank, it’s a great buy at $6!

  5. this post was almost too much for me with the use of the “w” word and mile cyrus thrown into the mix. but then i saw the cute clothes and i’m no longer having the heart attack. 🙂 i think you have a wal-mart convert on your hands. 🙂

    • Erin says:

      Seriously, iiiiii know. The whole time I was at Wal-Mart and actually looking at clothes, I was thinking, What the F am I DOING?!!?!

  6. Haha! You totally cracked me up! Wal-Mart. Miley Cyrus. Before you know it, you’ll be sporting a mullet. Just kidding. There are lots of normal people, like myself, who go to Wal-Mart and believe it or not you can find some cute stuff there – all for a reasonable price of course.
    Congratulations on the upcoming birth of your baby, your fabulous style and your sense of humor…all of which made my day. Thanks so much for stopping by my place. Have a great day.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

  7. Alissa says:

    SO CUTE. And I totally agree with you on the feeling dirty whilst going to walmart. Our one here is gross. When I take Molly in there I arm myself with an unreasonable amount of sanitizer.

    LOVE the clothes—and you 🙂 You are ADORABLE.

    • Erin says:

      Oh geez, what’s a girl to do with all these compliments? I should have started a blog YEARS ago.

  8. kate says:

    this was my first read on your blog and I LOVE IT! i saw your link at momalom and thought i would stop by to say hi.
    enjoy your wal-mart goodies! i may venture there as well–it hadn’t occurred to me until i read this post…i have exhausted the target maternity/roomy wear and am expecting my fourth this fall. congrats!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Miley Cyrus Talk. Miley Cyrus Talk said: From fashionista to frugalista: How I'm clothing myself during pregnancy http://twlv.net/191493 […]



Leave a Reply

    • 3,345 mamas since April 10, 2010
